Lewis Hamilton dominates German GP, Rosberg loses out to Red Bulls

Lewis Hamilton has a 19-point lead heading into Formula One's summer break.

Lewis Hamilton dominated Sunday’s German GP at the Hockenheimring in Hockenheim, Germany, for his sixth win in the last seven races.

In doing so, he was able to extend his points lead to teammate Nico Rosberg to 19 points heading into Formula One’s summer break.

Rosberg took pole on Saturday for the German GP, but dropped back behind Hamilton and the Red Bull Racing teammates in the run down to the first turn.

With radio rules having been relaxed since last weekend’s Hungarian GP, the Mercedes team was able to communicate with Rosberg all race long to try and use the undercut in the pits to leapfrog the Red Bull teammates.

After the second round of stops, Rosberg found himself right on the gearbox of Max Verstappen and so attempted an ambitious pass in the hairpin. Rosberg had the steering wheel locked to the right but the car continued to push out, with Rosberg having driven into the hairpin so hard, and Verstappen was forced to run off the track. The stewards investigated the incident and gave Rosberg a five-second time penalty.

Rosberg served his penalty during his third stop, with the team accidentally holding him three seconds longer than necessary. This dropped him back behind the Red Bulls.

Meanwhile, at Red Bull, Verstappen had taken second position from Daniel Ricciardo at the start. However, Verstappen’s battle with Rosberg cost him time, and Ricciardo was able to run him down and pass him on a set of supersoft tires for second.

Rain began to fall at the end of the race, but the field was able to complete the race without any major incidents. Felipe Nasr and Felipe Massa were the only retirement from the race.

Hamilton led Ricciardo and Verstappen home across the line. Rosberg was fourth while the Ferrari teammates finished in fifth and sixth positions.

Formula One will be back in action in four weeks time with the Belgian GP at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps.

Unofficial race results:

1. Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes
2. Daniel Ricciardo – Red Bull
3. Max Verstappen – Red Bull
4. Nico Rosberg – Mercedes
5. Sebastian Vettel – Ferrari
6. Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari
7. Nico Hulkenberg – Force India
8. Jenson Button – McLaren
9. Valtteri Bottas – Williams
10. Sergio Perez – Force India
11. Esteban Gutierrez – Haas
12. Fernando Alonso – McLaren
13. Romain Grosjean – Haas
14. Carlos Sainz – Toro Rosso
15. Daniil Kvyat – Toro Rosso
16. Kevin Magnussen – Renault
17. Pascal Wehrlein – Manor
18. Marcus Ericsson – Sauber
19. Jolyon Palmer – Renault
20. Rio Haryanto – Manor
21. Felipe Nasr – Sauber (DNF)
22. Felipe Massa – Williams (DNF)



Related Posts
Leave a reply